Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Importing Excel and Access

  1. #1

    Default Importing Excel and Access

    Can someone tell me how I would be able to import Excel files and Access databases into a graph?

  2. #2
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    485

    Default Re:Importing Excel and Access

    For Access, you could use the DB Query node, and choose the ODBC interface, and pull out of the database like any other. You could also save the tables in the database as delimited files, and pull them in using the Delimited File node. Either will work, it depends on your situation which is better for you. For Excel, you can save as delimited (CSV) and pull it in, similar to how you could do the Access data. Also, there is a python node that is under development to pull data out of the spreadsheet directly. If you are interested in that, I might be able to have someone post a pre-release version to play with.

    Cheers,
    $Rich

  3. #3

    Default Re:Importing Excel and Access

    I'd be interested in taking a look t different tabs or different areas on the same tab. Any help is greatly appreciated.

    Rob

  4. #4
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    485

    Default Re:Importing Excel and Access

    John (our TAM there, jpelz@lavastorm.com) will be down next week, and he can talk with you about it.

    Cheers,
    $Rich

  5. #5

    Default Re:Importing Excel and Access

    Hi guys,
    are there any updates on this?
    I downloaded the BRE v.4.1.3.0, and I did not find any possibility (neither python nor Excel directly) to import spreadsheets directly.
    Thanks,
    Kai

  6. #6
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    485

    Default Re:Importing Excel and Access

    In the next release, 4.1.4, there will be a node in Experimental that reads Excel spreadsheets. It is currently going to be released in Experimental partially because it does not currently support Excel 2007, only up to 2003. To view Experimental nodes, you will have to enable that under Advanced options in Preferences. 4.1.4 is scheduled to be released very soon, this summer.

    Rich

  7. #7

    Default Re:Importing Excel and Access

    Hey Rich,
    thanks for the answer.
    Office 2003 would be good enough, so how can I get this Experimental node?
    I was just surprised that the node did not exsist yet as you already announced it in previous posts in late 2007 / early 2008.
    Cheers,
    Kai

  8. #8
    Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    485

    Default Re:Importing Excel and Access

    Kai, I am expecting 4.1.4 to be released sometime next week. I would contact whomever provided you with your current software, and you should be able to get an upgrade at that point. Once you have that, you will be able to follow the above steps to enable experimental nodes and use the Excel nodes.

    Cheers
    Rich

Similar Threads

  1. Java Node Runtime Parameter Access
    By phourigan in forum Nodes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-01-2011, 01:11 PM
  2. Working with MS Access mdb files
    By rpcwong in forum Data Acquisition
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-06-2010, 09:50 AM
  3. Unable to Load an Access Query
    By Rapkat in forum Data Acquisition
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-29-2010, 02:01 PM
  4. Running MS Access Macros from Brain
    By Bashin in forum Nodes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-13-2009, 12:18 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •